M'era Luna Festival 2018

M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim
Firefly and me (Saturday)

This year was my third M'era Luna festival. And at some point I should really camp at this festival, because I think it makes festival experience a different and properly also even more fun. But since I live only 25 minutes by train way from Hildesheim every year I come up with another excuse to not sleep in a tent there. This year I am just a little overworked and didn´t want to bother with preparing for camping. Last year it was too muddy.... :D

 

 

M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim
M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim

M'era Luna 2018 was the first festival in a long time where I didn´t have a gig or any obligations, that's why I didn´t plan anything. I just wanted to go there, meet up with friends, see some bands, dance and enjoy myself. I didn´t even bother looking which bands where playing when I bought the ticket. So on Saturday I took my time to drink coffee and get ready at home, before arriving around 14 pm at the festival area.

 

The only band I was truly interested into that day was Nachtmahr and the Prodigy. Unfortunately I had to catch my last train, so I missed out on the Prodigy. But as I said, seeing bands wasn´t the main reason I went to the festival. I went more for the festival vibe and for my friends and fans.

 

 

M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim
M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim

I really love how M'era Luna always feels like a mixture of a goth and a metal festival. You have all the dressed up people, but also a lot of people in plain t-shirt sitting around in the grass enjoying the bands and a cold beer. Also the huge medieval market is really nice. If you want to you can also do a lot of "goth shopping" there. :D

M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim
Hochmut and me :D

On Sunday there where a lot more bands that I wanted to see and dance too. So I saw Frozen Plasma, Aesthetic Perfection and Roter Sand. If I didn´t have to take the train I properly would have watched Eisbrecher and Hocico as well.

 

But I was able to dance that day and had really nice conversations with old and new friends.

M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim
M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim

M'era Luna festival was nice. I feel like I am a bit festival tired at the moment, with Amphi Festival only being 2 weeks away. But I will camp next year at the M'era Luna festival. I think it will be a lot more fun this way.

 

Like Amphi Festival it´s nice that at the M'era Luna everything is really close by and you don´t have to travel thru the entire city like at the WGT. And unlike Amphi Festival you can camp at the M'era Luna, which gives you a lot more of the festival experience (if you do so^^).

 

One thing that does start to bother me are the safety rules that are increasing every year and seem to get more and more ridiculous. Checking into the concert area start´s to feel like going thru a airport security check in. So If you go to M'era Luna 2019 pack a see-thru backpack that isn´t bigger then A4 so that you can take at least a few thing to the in-field like a jacket, sun screen, a fan....

 

 

M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim
M'era Luna Festival 2018 - Hildesheim

What I love about M'era Luna is that say always seem to put a lot of effort into making the festival area fun to look it. They put a lot of afford into the decorations of the festival. And every year they come up with something new. So M'era Luna 2019: be ready for me and my tent. :D

Kontakt:

Ciwana Black

ciwana.black@gmail.com

If I took a photo of you/filmed you and you are unhappy with it, please send me an E-Mail and I will remove/blur out those parts :)


(C) Ciwana Black 2021