Amphi Festival 2015

This year the festival was a bit strange. It started out really good with the EOD in the Essigfabrik (it´s the inofficial pre-party). They had an awesome line-up. First playing was Unterschicht. A band I discovered this year at the WGT for myself. The gig was good, even so I missed a bit the dancers they had at the WGT. But I love their music and got 2 of their CDs. Their third will be out in the beginning of 2016.


I missed out on Accessory, because I wanted to talk to people that I didn´t see for a long time. And also to safe my energy for Phosgore. Well and Phosgore was absolutely awesome. They were the best band I saw this year at the Amphi Weekend.

I didn´t see much of Haujobb because there where just too many friends of mine there I wanted to have some time with.

Afterwards Frozen Plasma was playing. When they finished the Afterparty started. They had a pretty good DJ and I danced for a bit longer. But I did´t stay until the end, because I wanted to be fit for the Saturday.

New festival area - Lanxess Arena
New festival area - Lanxess Arena

Saturday come and I was really excited to see bands like Centhron, XRX and SITD. After I got ready, it started to get really windy. We decided to take the car and not to walk. When we got there, the disaster starter. Apparently there was a bad weather front coming. Centhron had already played – at 10:30 in the  morning instead of 13:10. And with only a facebook post one hour before their gig started.

Everybody was confused. There was no information at all. It was said that the green stage (where the industrial bands where supposed to play) would be opened later on the day. It was said that all bands on their got canceled. It was said they would be prosponed to the Sunday….but no information form the organization team. And the monitors only showed the old line up.

We had to go to inofficial pages (dunkelvolk) to get at least a bit of information. Everybody was really pissed and in a bad mood. The worst was that we didn´t get any information.


Well around 3pm to 4pm the organization team finally decided to reappreaed and come up with an alternative plan. Most bands on the green stage got canceled. Only XRX and SITD got rescheduled inside.  But since the Cruxshadow decided that they would stop play, XRX only got to play 4 Songs.

Ciwana Black - Amphi Festival 2015
My outfit on Saturday

After running around a bit without a plan, meeting some nice people and taking some pictures finally there was a good band again. Agonoize pretty much safed the day.  They where the band that got me into industrial. And I always love hearing and seeing their gigs.

We left the Amphi area at around 22pm  - acutally I just wanted to get chanced and come back for the Afterparty. But then I was too tired and the day a bit to creepy. So I decided for a good night of sleep.

Das Klub meeting - Ciwana Black - Amphi 2015
Das Klub meeting 2015

The Sunday started with good weather. We need to get up pretty early to see SITD. And it was definitely worth it. Afterwards I was a bit in stress to check out the location for the das Klub meeting myself first, before the meeting started. I wanted to do that on Saturday – but you couldn´t really walk outside that day because of the wind.

After a bit a running around, we had pretty much everybody by 12 a.m. in the Pyramiden Park for the das Klub meeting. It was really nice that we all got back together. We talked, laughted and made a big group picture. This year there was no video project, because we didn´t have time to organize one and we didn´t know how the new location would be.

After the das Klub meeting I had a photoshooting with Ulrich on which Blasphemy come with me, so that we could get food afterwards. We ended up being a big group to get some food (thank you Merlin for paying for my subways – I forgot my money with another friend^^).

Outside the enterance - Photo: Ulrich Waschul - Amphi Festival 2015
Outside the enterance - Photo: Ulrich Waschul

I spend the day meeting people, walking around. Buying a new collar and having some ice crème.

In the End VNV Nations was playing. It was definitely worth waiting for them.

So that was the Amphi Festival for me. Started out really crappy but got a lot better. It was mainly about meeting friends again. The line-up was not good on Sunday from the beginning on. And most bands I wanted to see on Saturday were canceled. I am not really fused about the new location. It feels more like a concert and not like a festival. But without the Arena the entire Saturday would properly have been canceled....

 

Whether I will go again? Depends upon the line-up and whether it is better next year. Otherwise I might as well just go to the EOD at the Essigfabrik. But then I will miss out on many of my friends….well…I think will give the Amphi another chance.

Comments: 1 (Discussion closed)
  • #1

    MUSTHIS (Monday, 07 March 2016 07:57)

    Muy chidas tus fotos.

Kontakt:

Ciwana Black

ciwana.black@gmail.com

If I took a photo of you/filmed you and you are unhappy with it, please send me an E-Mail and I will remove/blur out those parts :)


(C) Ciwana Black 2021